Burt’s Bees BB Cream Review in Light/Medium SPF15

Hey there! A makeup product review after a long time. I have tried to buy much less makeup because I really don’t use that much on a daily basis. My Sephora advent calendar doesn’t count of course! My everyday makeup consist of mainly concealer. Sometimes I also use BB cream, blusher, highlighter and eyebrow pen to get some color on my face.

I’ve been using Lancome’s BB cream, but due to my more natural skincare routine I decided to switch to Burt’s Bee’s BB cream. Here’s my review about it:

Packaging and ingredients

Generic squeezable and hygienic tube with signature Burt’s Bees logo and colours. Works for me! Ingredients are 98,9% natural and that’s the main reason I bought it. Definite plus for the SPF 15. The tube is quite small, less than 50g of product.

Burt's Bees BB cream review and swatch in light/medium

Shades, fragrance and formula

The lightest shade out of the three shades looks really fair, almost greyish toned. I went straight to medium/light shade and it’s slightly on the warmer or neutral side. It’s a tad too light for me so they could have some more shades in my opinion. The fragrance is mild and slightly citrus which is not bothering me at all. Good for sensitive skin too! Consistency is slightly thick and creamy, almost like a CC cream. It could be blending more smoothly onto face as it feels kind of heavy while applying.

Result and coverage

Coverage is like BB cream, it evens skin tone but doesn’t cover up blemishes or dark circles under the eyes. The product feels light on the face even though when applying it feels kind of heavy. Skin is left moist and plumpy. The finish is illuminating and reflecting light beautifully! Applying with beauty blender or brush will give more coverage than application with fingers.

Overall I like the result especially how illuminated my face looks without being glittery or oily. I feel moisture on my skin and the cream is feeling comfortable throughout the day, but I do feel tightness on my forehead in the afternoon because I didn’t apply moisturizer in the morning. So this needs moisturizer under it.

This BB cream is suitable for those easy days in-between heavy foundations or why not in everyday use in dry, air-conditioned spaces. It can last neat about half a day or full day even. Powder can be used on top of the cream but I don’t, as it kind of takes away the whole purpose of BB cream.

Pros

– almost 100% natural ingredients

– mild fragrance

– evens skintone

– moisturizing feel

– illuminating finish

– affordable (except in Singapore haha)

Cons

– needs concealer on top

– doesn’t apply that smoothly onto face

– might “disappear” during the day in humid weather

– expensive in Singapore

Leave a comment